Archive | February 18, 2013

Tomato & Pork Egg Drop Soup

tomato egg drop soup

Lately I have been becoming more and more fascinated with Asian Cuisine. I’m not talking about sweet and sour pork and chicken balls either, guys. I’m talking authentic cuisine from the other side of the world. One of my favourite things right now is pho. Broth, beef, rice noodles, bean sprouts and TONS of flavour. Mmmm! I find that these types of Asian soups just have so many different flavours that somehow come together to make magic happen. I love the tastes, the ease, the health benefits, and of course the fact that my boyfriend is begging me to make more soups like this helps too! I always like to appease the non paleo palettes as much as possible.

Admittedly, I’m pretty inexperienced as far as these things go. I was not raised on different kinds of Asian soups. I was raised on chicken balls, general tso’s and chicken guy ding. I don’t think I even tried wonton soup until I was in my teenage years! But, I am eager to learn, and eager to try new flavours! That is the best part of it. I will be researching much more about this type of cuisine in future, so if you enjoy this type of recipe please, stick around!

tomato egg drop soup1

The first time I ever heard of egg drop soup was not at a restaurant. It was actually on an episode of the paleo view. Stacy mentioned that she makes her kids egg drop soup for breakfast a lot. That got the wheels turning in my brain, although I couldn’t find an actual recipe for it! So I searched out for the authentic version.

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is my version of this authentic soup. [Tomato Egg Drop Soup.] It features ground pork, tomato, egg, cilantro, green onion and ginger. This soup will make your taste buds SING, I promise you that! My boyfriend tasted it and said “OMG! You need to make stuff like this more often!!!” That, my friends, is a good sign!

tomato egg drop soup2

Tomato & Pork Egg Drop Soup
serves: 8 time:

Ingredients
1 tbsp. coconut oil
2/3lb – 1lb ground pork
1 small white onion, chopped
1 28oz can diced organic tomatoes
10 cups of water
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. sambal oelek (use nomnompaleo’s homemade sriracha if you are not comfortable with sambal oelek, it is a chilli sauce)
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 – 3 tbsp. chopped cilantro (FRESH!)
4 tbsp. green onion, chopped

Instructions

  1. Melt coconut oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add ground pork in and break up into small pieces while stirring. Cook until almost brown, and then add in the chopped onion. Continue cooking until onion had turned translucent, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add diced tomatoes and cover. Cook until tomato is soft and broken down, about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add water, sambal oelek, and ginger. Bring heat up to high and let simmer for 15 minutes, skimming any foam that rises to the top.
  4. Turn off the heat. Pour the egg into the boiling soup and then stir to break up into small egg fragments. Top with cilantro and green onion.

This post is linked up at Butter Believer’s Sunday School!

Follow me on:

 

FACEBOOKPINTERESTTWITTER