Paleo Lunch Series: Salad Time!

I just had this realization that I have completely neglected the ‘paleo lunch series’ that I had wanted to do on this blog. I’m not sure why seeing as I take my lunch to work pretty much everyday, so I should have a plethora of content to show you on the subject. I think I kind of forgot that I had even wanted to do that. Keeping track of everything is so difficult for me! At work I literally have 50 drafts in my inbox all of ideas that suddenly came to me that I needed to write down. And those are just the ones I haven’t done anything with yet!

DSC_1500

Now that’s its heating up outside (yay) I am gravitating towards salads for lunch! Back in the day I was a romaine girl, but I have a new found love for spring mix, and spring mix with spinach too. It’s easy to find organic, and most are pre washed which makes life soooo much easier and me much more likely to actually eat it. Plus I’m pretty sure there are a lot more nutrients in this as opposed to romaine, which seems like mostly water. Here is a great combo I had the other day! Chicken, carrots, red pepper, red onion on top of spring mix, with some farm boy Italian dressing on top.

006-001

Farmboy has amazing dressings most of which are olive oil based only (YAY!) and all tasting really good. If you have a Farmboy locally I really recommend you buy their dressings if you need something easy and convenient. Trust me on this one!

007-001

Balsamic Vinegar, olive oil, honey, garlic, dried red pepper.

Packing this and maybe an apple with some almond butter is a great and delicious lunch that WILL satisfy. I recommend pre cooking some chicken so you can grab it and go! I do this and then my boyfriend and I will make different meals out of the chicken. This go around I had mine on salads, while he had his turned into butter chicken! It worked out well for both of us.

Just remember, if you are also a romaine person, why not try something new? I didn’t used to like spring mix…too bitter. Palettes change though, so it’s always worth trying something again!

Leave a Reply

