Archive | November 28, 2012

Paleo Lunch Series

One of the most important parts of me staying on track with my paleo decision is to pack my lunches for work every. single. day. My work has very limited paleo options. In fact, if you add in the terrors of vegetable oils, I’d say they have 0 options.

I work in a hospital, on the weekend, so it makes things tough. They have a coffee shop, which is entirely sugary lattes and crazy cakes to me. We also have a cafeteria. Before switching to paleo I would often buy a chicken salad sandwich and maybe some onion rings, deep fried. I know. My old staple was a chicken burger. Sometimes I did egg salad too. I LOVED making salads at the salad bar, but unfortunately on the weekend the ingredients are no where near fresh, and its repulsive. The lettuce has gone see through before you make it to the table to eat. Seriously nasty. And the only ‘protein’ option in sight is kidney beans. So yeah. My go to snack was a greek yogurt that was priced to be double it’s true worth. I can pick up a banana or an apple sometimes, and the convenience store sells nuts, so I’m okay for a snack if I’m absolutely stuck at least.

So obviously bringing my own lunch is pretty much my only option. I used to find this really hard to do though. So I thought I would start sharing the lunch ideas I come up with to help others out there who are in this same pinch!

Oh, also? I work 12 – 8, so I often pack breakfast AND lunch!! Fun, right?

Let’s start out with one of my first breakfasts, a compilation of leftovers:

002-001

This was easy, and delicious. If you can’t tell, that’s half of the quiche I posted about yesterday. We also have 1 leftover no additive sausage (find them at farmboy! Ingredients are pork, salt, and spices :) ) and some leftover sweet potato fries. That leaves us with one filling and tasty breakfast that was easy to toss together!

I probably ate that as ‘brunch’, which I sometimes do when I’m working. I’ll eat a huge meal for breakfast and another big meal for dinner, and that’s it for the day. The weird work hours facilitate this option mostly.

005-001006-001

This is another leftover magic lunch I packed. I had some of sarah fragoso’s best ever chicken wings and riced cauliflower. I packed some lettuce leaves, and when lunch time came I shredded the chicken, mixed the cauliflower with it, and packed it into the lettuce leaves as a yummy wrap! It was really tasty, promise :)

So there you go…some ideas on how to combine leftovers and fresh items for a delicious and healthy meal at work!  I will be posting a lot more of these, so stay tuned!