Walk every day for a YEAR!! I challenge you.

Have you ever heard of the 365 photo challenge? It’s a challenge where you try to take at least 1 photo every single day for a year. It’s pretty hard to be THAT consistent but I am going to attempt it. With a twist. Recently I had this thought, that I want to try to walk everyday for a year. So why not walk AND take a photo everyday for a year?

2

Now, most people will at least walk from the bed to the kitchen or whatever every day. Unless you CAN’T walk, you probably walk everyday. BUT, do you walk the bare necessity to get around? OR do you walk with purpose, outside, for prolonged periods of time?

What I’m trying to say is that, this challenge is not just to get up from the couch and walk to the bathroom and then sit down again. This challenge is to walk for at least 15 minutes, preferable 30, with purpose, without interruption, every day for a year. What I’m going to be doing is that, plus taking a photo while on my walk everyday for the next year. I’m starting on May 1. AKA today!

What inspired me to do this was that for the past couple of months I have been working full time. Before I started, I made a promise to myself that I would walk on my 30 minute break every day. And guess what? I did it! It gave me so many positive effects too, that I now KNOW how good it is for me!

While I was walking everyday I noticed a lot of benefits coming from it. When I came inside from my walk I was bursting with energy, first of all. I was ready to take on the rest of my day NO PROBLEM! Also, if I had been a bit hungry before I went out, when I came in I felt satisfied. Getting outside is great too because you can get some vitamin D action going on! Even if it was only my face, I was happy that my skin was getting some exposure to the sun. Walking outside especially can be a great mood booster- think about it. You’re getting physical activity, fresh air, and sun exposure. That’s like a good mood cocktail! Plus, I was shocked to learn that I was burning about 100 calories just walking for ½ hour each day. That’s pretty wild to me! I guess I was expecting it to be a lot less for some reason.

1

So here’s what I am going to be up to for the next year:

Taking a minimum of a 15 minute walk every day

Taking a photo on that walk and posting it my instagram daily, hashtag #walk365

Giving Recaps on the blog of how its going

Logging how far I go. How many miles can I cover in ONE year? How many miles can YOU cover in one year?!

Motivating others to get out and walk! Next time you need to run to the store that’s close by, try walking instead of driving.

Walking is a simple way to take charge of your health! So if you are with me, let me know! Comment below if you are joining in :) Or to cheer me on! ;) Tweet at me when you take a walk – @cgepaleo #walk365

So far I walked for 40 minutes today – 2.6 miles. Here’s the photo I snapped at 6:10 am!

IMG_20130501_061511

I haven’t decided WHAT yet but I will most likely give out a FEW prizes over the next year to some of my fellow walkers. More details on that to come!

So just to recap: Walk, every day. For a year. Can you handle this?!

Leave a Reply

