Homemade Toothpaste

039-001

Have you ever looked into the ingredients that are in the toothpaste you use? It’s quite an eye opening experience. I had no idea that SLS was in my toothpaste, but it was! The funny thing is, I have allergic reactions to SLS in body products. So, the fact that I was unknowingly putting that into my mouth daily was quite disheartening to learn. Just goes to show you really need to read ingredients on EVERYTHING! Learning about the ingredients in my toothpaste made me determined to make my own, once and for all.


From Wikipedia:
Colgate Maximum Cavity Protection

Active Ingredient: sodium monofluorophosphate (1.1%)
Other Ingredients: Calcium Carbonate, Water, Sorbital, Hydrated Silca,
Sodium laureth sulfate, Sodium Monoflurophosphate, Flavor, Cellulose Gum, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Carbonate, Sodiu Saccharin, Sodium Bicarbonate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

I had actually seen a video on The Love Vitamin about how to make your own toothpaste some time ago, as apparently many people get acne around their mouth due to toothpaste. I didn’t have mouth acne at the time so i brushed it off and watched more videos, not really thinking I would ever do it. I went back to her immediately when I read those ingredients though, let me tell you!

You can view the video here, or just follow these simple instructions (which I’ve altered slightly):

Homemade toothpaste does not require a lot of ingredients. In fact you MIGHT just have everything you need in the cupboard right now. All you need is coconut oil, baking soda, and xylitol. Some organic peppermint oil would probably make it taste better, but I accidently bought ESSENTIAL oil instead of an edible one so I just left it out.

038-001

Okay, so here we go. Gather up the following:

6 tbsp. coconut oil

6 tbsp. xylitol

4 tsp. baking soda PLUS 2 tsp. baking soda

Water (about 1 cup, warm)

(optional)Peppermint or other organic flavouring oil

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a small saucepan over medium heat until just liquefied. Let cool, but not to the point of re-solidifying.
  2. In a blender combine everything except the extra 2 tsp of baking soda. Let it blend until it all looks emulsified.
  3. Pour the liquid into a container. Anything will do! This is not the final container for the toothpaste. Put it in the fridge and let the coconut oil harden up.
  4. Remove the chunk of coconut oil from the container and transfer to the container you have chosen to keep it in. stir in the extra baking soda, just in case some of it is left behind in the water!! Dump the extra water left behind.017-002025-001

And…Tada! That’s really all it takes. I keep a Popsicle stick next to the container to easily scoop a bit up and plop it on my toothbrush. It doesn’t taste bad and it’s much less irritating to my mouth.

037-001What is xylitol? Xylitol is a sweetener extracted from various natural materials such as birch and corn cobs…which I wouldn’t usually eat. The thing is though, that this toothpaste is getting spit out. So you aren’t really eating it. And apparently xylitol is actually GOOD for your teeth! It is a non-fermentable sugar so bacteria in your mouth can not feed on it. And it REALLY helps cut the salty taste of baking soda. You can read more about it here and make that decision for yourself.

So far I have noticed that this toothpaste works very well. It isn’t gritty and it seems to be doing the job of cleaning my teeth. I took a before photo but I’ve only been using it for about a week, so I will get back to you with before and after pictures later on this month perhaps :) Reducing the chemicals I use on my self on a day to day basis is my goal, and this toothpaste is helping me to get there! It’s cheaper than store bought natural toothpastes as well.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Toothpaste

  1. So when I read this post when you first posted it I thought “cool, but I’m too lazy” ;) haha. Then my aunt sent me this the other day and I HAD to share with you:

    Science says: Triclosan, an antibacterial agent found in many personal care products, is currently under review by the FDA. Troubling results from animal studies showed that it could reduce levels of thyroid hormones, which play a key role in regulating metabolism. Other recent studies suggest that long-term use of products containing triclosan can increase bacteria’s resistance to antibiotics. It may be risky to have triclosan in your toothpaste since it can readily be absorbed through the mouth.

    For safety’s sake: Until the official rulings from the FDA are in, I’m avoiding toothpastes that contain triclosan, and I recommend that you do, too. There are plenty of triclosan-free options available—just check the ingredient list on the label. And don’t fret about losing out on triclosan’s antibacterial power: Brushing and flossing twice a day will still remove bacteria.

    Read more: http://www.oprah.com/health/Health-Risks-to-Avoid-Dr-Oz-on-Health-Hazards/2#ixzz2PysMdZqE

    CRAZY, right?! Anyway, I’m now VERY glad you have posted this recipe for homemade toothpaste :)

    • that is so crazy!!! jeeez when will it stop? I’m so sick of being bombarded by chemicals everywhere i go. we live in a crazy world. I know this is just toothpaste talk but still! I’m sure you agree. thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

