21DSD Day 18–More on cravings

*don’t forget to enter my giveaway to win Skintervention by Liz Wolfe!! You still have 8 whole days to enter!*

Today is day 18 of the 21DaySugarDetox and I am kind of in shock! It is still hard, but I have come to a realization. There is a huge, HUGE difference between physical sugar cravings, and emotional sugar cravings. The 18 days off of sugar (give or take some wine and tequila…) have eliminated the physical cravings, but the emotional cravings are most definitely still there.

What triggers me?

One thing that always makes me want to cave is the lethal combination of being tired and hungry at the same time. If I have just finished a long, hard day and I am even a little hungry, watch out sugar because I am coming for you! One way to avoid this is to keep healthier snacks on hand as to avoid this situation. I like macadamia nuts, but I need to be careful because I can (and do) literally eat 100 macadamias a day. And those things aren’t cheap!

Another one is if I am feeling upset. A lot of things have been going wrong in my life lately and I am finding it really hard not to turn to food. I never considered myself an emotional eater, but now I am realizing I am. As soon as stuff starts spiraling out of control I want to reach for ice cream. Which is definitely not good if you live next door to Baskin Robbins, like I do. (NOT KIDDING!) This is something I really need to keep working on, because I don’t want to have a sugary crutch in my life anymore.

Cravings of convenience

Sometimes I don’t even want something at all, but then I see it and I feel tempted and in that moment I want it. For example, driving past about 30 – 40 fast food restaurants on the way home from work. I will have a BARRAGE of cravings coming at me the whole drive home. I don’t want A&W, but I see it and suddenly my mouth is watering and I’m thinking about a teen burger. Or at work, my office is right beside Second Cup. I want a vanilla latte as soon as I smell it!

What do I crave?

Let me tell you, when I’m emotional, it’s not a banana I am craving. I want chocolate. Caramel. Cheesecake. Stuff that I know I shouldn’t be eating even if I weren’t on the 21DSD. In fact, ON THE 21DSD, I feel much more drawn to foods I wasn’t eating beforehand. I don’t know why this is. Perhaps, it is because now I think of all sugar, natural or not, as a cheat. Why cheat with a strawberry when I will feel just as guilty if I cheat with a sundae? I really need to change my mindset on this aspect.

025-001035-001

How do I fight it?

One way is to remove yourself from the situation. I just don’t even buy a black coffee, so I don’t need to resist switching from black to a latte at the last moment. But, like i mentioned earlier, we are attacked with advertisements constantly.  So removing yourself from temptation is not always an option!

Something else to think about is to look at this like a small picture. everyone always says to look at the big picture but I think that can get overwhelming. 21 Days seems like a long time. 1 day seems like a lot shorter of a time! Tell yourself you just need to make it through the current moment. That’s what I’ve been doing and what do you know, I’m at day 18!

The last thing I’ve come up with is to tell yourself “I can do this”, because guess what, you CAN! Many people have succeeded at this and you can too, we are all capable! I heard a quote today the was just too fitting to this topic:

“Whether you think you can or you can’t – you are right” – Henry Ford

If you don’t think you can succeed, you probably wont. Try to stay positive and remind yourself that you are strong. “I can do this” is a very powerful statement. I’m going to keep reminding myself that I CAN DO THIS for the next 3 days. And I will  be fighting that emotional eating monster for much longer than that. We all have the power to control our lives, we just need to tap into it and make change happen.

Who’s with me? How far have YOU made it on this journey?

Follow me on:

FACEBOOKPINTERESTTWITTER

One thought on “21DSD Day 18–More on cravings

  1. Pingback: 21DSD: What not to do (recap) | Canada Girl Eats Paleo

Leave a Reply

