Paleo Valentines Breakfast take 2! “I Heart ME Omelette”

Hey guys…before I get started, PLEASE like my facebook page, by clicking on ‘like’ on the left side of the page! I am very lonely still! It would make my day :)

030-001

Wow, have I EVER stressed myself out today! I won’t go into details but I’ve been trying to do some stuff with wordpress and a host to get some better features on my blog. It has been the BIGGEST headache! Highlight was causing my main web address to direct to a BLANK wordpress site. Ugghghh. So much time wasted and I’m back at my .wordpress address right now. I know I will get it eventually, but SERIOUSLY?!

Luckily I have something very fun and cheery to talk about right now which will lift my spirits! It’s a second cute paleo valentine’s day breakfast! See my first option here. Both are suitable to the 21 day sugar detox, although if you are not an athlete, skip the sweet potato! This one features red bell pepper hearts fried in duck fat, so stay tuned.

This omelette is all about self love, it serves 1. You! I personally made this for myself and am happy I did, because it is delicious! You could definitely make it for someone else too, but then you would be missing out! Better make two.

024-001
Here’s what went inside the little omelette!

I Heart ME Omelette serves 1
Ingredients
1/2 a red bell pepper
1 tbsp sundried tomatoes
3 tbsp frozen spinach, thawed
1 small white onion, chopped loosely
1 homemade sausage patty or other meat protein, chopped
duck fat for frying

2 eggs
salt & pepper, kelp flakes optional!

Instructions
1. Cut the bell pepper into medium sized triangles. Cut a mini triangle out of the top and you have a heart! Use all scraps as filling for the omelette.

2. In a medium sized frying pan, on medium heat, melt some duck fat and then place the hearts into it. Let them cook, without turning, for about 5 minutes. Set aside.

3. In the same pan, add the bell pepper, onion, spinach, sausage, and sundried tomatoes and let them cook down for about 5 minutes. Set on a plate.

4. Whisk the two eggs together and pour into pan. Let cook until bubbles appear and egg looks set. Push up around the edge while cooking to avoid sticking! Scoop filling onto the omelette and fold 1 half over. Serve with the pepper hearts and some sweet potato hearts!

028-001

For the sweet potato hearts, simply bake a sweet potato or microwave. Cut into thick circular slices. Carve out a heart shape and voila! Having good knives will make all of this a lot easier, promise.

033-001

In case you were wondering, this is the duck fat I use:

025-001

I found it at the farmboy near my house. I hope it is available (or something similar) elsewhere!

Quick 21DSD update:

I didn’t drink today! I had my fun with my friend and it was no issue whatsoever. It never even came up. She had her cider and i just made myself some coffee. Simple as that! Hurrah! I’m eating beef bourguignon tonight for dinner…yum!!! It’s actually been a pretty good day nine, besides all of that internet trouble -_-

3 thoughts on “Paleo Valentines Breakfast take 2! “I Heart ME Omelette”

  1. Pingback: Zucchini and Carrot Swirl Quiche | Canada Girl Eats Paleo

Leave a Reply

