21DSD: Week 1 recap…aka 7 days off of the sugar crack!

Wow. I am so happy to be writing this post right now! It’s been tough, I will not lie, but I have made it through 7 whole days with 0 slip ups. I haven’t even eaten green apples daily. How? I don’t know! Luck must have played into it. There were temptations a PLENTY, let me tell you! I’ve had co-workers offering many sweet treats my way. It’s hard to say no! Especially as a thin girl. When I say no to chocolate, which everyone knows I love, they tell me “but you need to eat! You love it! You’re already so skinny!” and to be honest, I don’t really have a great response to them. I don’t want my coworkers to think I am on a ‘diet’, and I don’t have time to explain the ins and outs of what I’m doing. I’ve learned a precious skill of accepting the square of chocolate and saying “I’m going to eat it later”, only to trash it later rather than ingest it. It may seem wasteful but when people won’t take no for an answer, I don’t see a better alternative.

graph

Another struggle I have faced is NOT DRINKING! This is hard as a 22 year old. I don’t think of myself as a heavy drinker, but I do have a drink or 2 (or more) most weekends. I have stopped drinking my alcohol with soda, but I do still indulge in a couple tequila shots or something with soda water. I avoided it this weekend by not going out to the clubs, and choosing not to drink at home. My boyfriend is a beer drinker (which I hate) so he didn’t even offer to share his six pack with me last night. I had a glass of kombucha and felt totally satisfied! Not sure what our plans are for next weekend but I sure hope I can keep this up!

035

On top of not eating sugar I decided I wanted to go on walks daily during this time. So far so good! With these daily walks, I’ve been outside walking for almost 2 hours! That’s pretty good considering the weather we’ve been having. It’s been freezing and snowing! Overall I walked 110 minutes last week J I’m going to try to increase it for the next! I’ve also been keeping up on my heavy lifting and other workouts for the week too. I love work out days because then I get to eat half a sweet potato! Eating only half is a huge challenge though.

061-001
lunch this week featuring 1/2 a sweet potato! and pulled pork :3

Overall, I would say it’s been a very good week for me. I have surprised myself over and over with my strength to say no and to keep going. I guess when I put my mind to something I really can accomplish it! Although there is still 2 weeks left to go, I am confident in my own abilities. Woohoo!

Anyone else out there with me? How did your first week go?

3 thoughts on “21DSD: Week 1 recap…aka 7 days off of the sugar crack!

  1. Pingback: 21DSD: What not to do (recap) | Canada Girl Eats Paleo

Leave a Reply

