Turkey and Veg Soup

002

Since my parents bought us the wonderful mini deep freeze, I’ve been trying to get busy making some meals that I can eat right away, and also freeze leftovers for some convenient lunch options. I made this turkey soup for that purpose, and it made A LOT, but i still only managed to freeze 3 portions! I ate it for lunch about 4 times in the past week! Every day I worked this week actually, now that I think about it!

004-001

The best part is, this time of year, it really wasn’t even that costly. I used 1 ginormous turkey leg that i bought for about 4 dollars. I already had made turkey broth that I defrosted and used. And most of the vegetables I used were already on hand! You know it turned out good too, or I would NOT have been able to eat it 5 days in a row.

011-001

This soup is a perfect accompaniment to the crazy cold weather we’ve been having in Ontario. Of course in big cities like Toronto it’s fine, but where I am? Not so much. One of the things we are supposed to do with eplifefit is run outside to warm up. WELL, it’s sometimes almost – 30 here with sidewalks covered in snow and slush and ice, so that isn’t happening. Hopefully my high knees inside are making up for it!

009-001

This is a fun soup. It’s partially blended, but with chunks of vegetables like broccoli and carrots sprinkled through, and big hunks of turkey too of course! I really hope you enjoy this one. When it’s cold, it totally goes Jello texture, so you know it’s good!

Turkey and Veg Soup
Ingredients

2lb turkey leg, cooked or uncooked
6 cups of turkey or chicken broth (homemade preferably)
6 cups of water
1.5 cups of broccoli, chopped, leftover stems are fine
2 cups chopped carrots
2 sticks of celery, chopped
1 medium Spanish onion, diced
1 leek, chopped
1 sweet potato, peeled and cubed
4 cloves of garlic, smashed
2 cups green chard

1 tsp paprika
1 tsp black pepper
2 tsp herbes de provence (basil, parsley, marjoram, chervil, oregano)
salt to taste

Instructions
1. If the turkey is cooked, break up into small pieces and set aside. If not, place turkey leg in a large pot and pour the water and broth over it, and bring to a boil. Make sure to cover it so you don’t loose too much liquid!

2. Let the turkey leg cook for about 45 minutes, on medium heat. Add all of the other vegetables in, except the chard. Season and Replace cover, and let simmer for another 45 minutes.

3. When turkey is cooked, and vegetables are soft, Remove from heat. I like to let the soup sit for a while before blending, to avoid burns. Remove the turkey leg from the soup to remove the flesh from the bone.

4. After soup is cooled, use an immersion blender and lightly blend the vegetables. Leave some chunks for added texture! Then add back in the turkey chunks, and stir it all together.

012-001

Enjoy a delicious and warming bowl of turkey soup! After it is completely cooled you can also transfer some to individual containers for quick meals later. I will let them defrost in my lunch bag and then transfer to a ceramic bowl I keep at work to heat while at work.

020-001  021-001

010

Here is an in action photo of the soup! look at that ginormous leg.

I hope if you make this you really enjoy the nourishing and tasty soup you end up with!

8 thoughts on “Turkey and Veg Soup

  1. Pingback: What I ate and how I moved Wednesday! | Canada Girl Eats Paleo

Leave a Reply

