Cave Ketchup and a Hash

015-001

One of my favourite condiments ever is…Ketchup. I know, I know. I must have a very refined palette, right? But there’s something about that little tangy sweet taste that truly does add something to salty dishes. Of course, I’m sure that conventional ketchup is full of high fructose corn syrup and it is definitely not a HEALTH food.

So of course, I had to try to make my own, because some things are just made for ketchup. Like potatoes (sweet or otherwise). And meat pie (I so want to make a paleo meat pie.) PLUS, you gotta have it to top a meatloaf! It’s something I can’t go without. Well maybe I could, but I don’t want to!

I recently bought paleo comfort foods so I figured I would try their recipe for cave ketchup first. I like the recipe well enough, but it doesn’t have enough of an authentic ketchup flavour for me. It’s a very savoury ketchup, with no added sweetener whatsoever, so if you are on the 21 day sugar detox or something similar this would be perfect for you. Also, last night, my boyfriend and I tried it on top of a meatloaf he made and it was GREAT!! So there you go :)

033-001

I will, however, keep looking for the perfect recipe. Or maybe I’ll come up with something by myself! I’ll keep you updated on my quest for perfect paleo ketchup.

In the meantime, why not make some delicious sweet potato hash to eat with some ketchup and eggs. This is one of my favourite dishes, I LOOOOOOOOOVE all hash browns. It’s really easy and versatile too, which gives it an A+ in my books.

037-001

Ingredients
Sweet potato cut into small cubes

(optional) small white potato

Herbes de provence / herbs of your choice

Salt and pepper

Butter or coconut oil

Instructions

Chop up your sweet potato and regular potato if you so desire. Make sure they are both peeled first!

Melt a pat of butter in the frying pan and throw those sweet potatoes in there.

Let the potatoes cook with the lid on over low-medium heat & make sure to turn them frequently. This will allow the centres to cook up without them getting too crispy on the outside. Be careful with sweet potatoes, they turn dark pretty quickly!

Once they are soft in the centre, add the spices and continue to cook for another 1 – 5 minutes, until outsides are nice and crispy.

Voila! It really is that easy.

027-001

This is one of my FAVORITE breakfasts! I wish I had more time so I could make it this morning! Alas, I have to go to work :( Leftover meatloaf and eggs it is for me today!

2 thoughts on “Cave Ketchup and a Hash

  1. beautiful photos – it looks v mouth-watering. I have been wavering about getting Paleo Comfort Foods for a while now and I think you’ve convinced me to go for it. I find it physically impossible to eat scrambled eggs without ketchup. It’s just WRONG

    • Aw thank you! I guess those photography classes in high school paid off after all :) The book is really great! I also made the butternut squash soup in there and it was AMAZING. My best friend and i loved it. I can’t wait to try more. & I totally agree on the scrambled eggs front :)

Leave a Reply

