Coconut Orange Honey Nut Cookies

049-002

I’m writing this to you at 6 am, as I drink coffee and get ready to go to work on christmas eve. I’m going in extra early so I can have as much time with my family afterwards as possible. I’m so thankful that a kind co-worker of mine offered to pick me up on the way to work, so I could get a bit more sleep.

036-001

It’s going to be a long and hectic day, but I really wanted to share this recipe around Christmas. Today is my last chance! I had a terrible time sleeping last night (NO IDEA WHY…SERIOUSLY) so I figure there’s no point trying to get an extra couple of minutes now that I am up a bit early.

053-001

I will be brief now, though. All I need to tell you are these are great. And do not drop them on the floor. And I adapted them from this recipe. SuesNutritionBuzz is a great place to check out if you have the time!

056-001

Inrgedients

1 1/4 c coconut flakes (unsweetened)

1 c sultana raisins

1 c chopped walnuts

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp honey

juice and zest of 1 orange

1 tsp vanilla

cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350.

Melt the honey and Coconut Oil Together in the Microwave.

Squeeze in the fresh orange juice and stir in the zest. Add the vanilla.

Mix together the dry ingredients and slowly mix them in with the rest. Season with cinnamon to taste. I used about 1 tsp but you could definitely do more!

Bake for 10 minutes.

Voila.

060-001061-001

Just don’t do as I do okay. Because this might happen. I am embarrassed to admit, I was photographing some on a plate, pushed them to get better lighting, and bam…cookies on the floor!

063-001069-001

Life ain’t fair, but in the end I kept about 10 or 20, so it’s ok. I ate them all so quickly it’s probably a good thing. The orange really adds a special sweetness and holiday flavour to these puppies!

Enjoy, and happy holidays everyone <3

Leave a Reply

