Gluten Free Beef Stew

050-002

First of all, if you love stew, you will adore this one. Just gonna put it out there. You might even want to skip to the recipe RIGHT NOW!

Second of all, if you don’t think potatoes are paleo, I don’t blame you. Just swap ‘em with sweet potatoes or maybe some parsnips and still make this, because its great!

035-001

For me, I don’t find potatoes an issue. As long as we aren’t talking fast food French fry ‘potatoes’. I like potatoes a lot and I don’t have any concern about eating them once in a while. I’ve definitely moved more towards the sweet variety, but for the sake of comfort and tradition I chose to use potatoes in this recipe.044-001

Okay, now that that’s done, let’s get on with the recipe! This was one of my first attempts to ‘paleo-fy’ one of my favourite recipes. Stew is something I grew up eating quite often. With working parents I think they really appreciated being able to throw something in the crockpot in the morning and come home to a prepared meal. And my brother and I appreciated it too because it always smelt so yummy! They always told us though “DO NOT OPEN THE CROCKPOT!!!!” Apparently it lets the steam out or something, who knows ;)

060-001

I was a bit worried about the flavours matching up to my mom’s classic but it turned out great! My boyfriend LOVED it, and my friend who is a chef came by and smelt it cooking and just couldn’t get over how amazing it smelt. So I would say that’s a good sign! I substituted a few key ingredients, and made this old favourite completely gluten and soy free. To top it off I used my homemade beef broth to infuse it with flavour and minerals. YUM!

Ingredients

2 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon paprika

2 tsp. coconut aminos

1 tsp. lemon juice

2 tsp. balsamic vinegar

1 onion, chopped

1 1/2 cups beef broth

3 potatoes, diced

4 carrots, sliced

2 stalks celery, chopped

Instructions
Place the beef in the bottom of the slow cooker. In a seperate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and pepper. pour over the meat and mix it up to have beef evenly coated. Add the remaining ingredients to the crock pot and mix it up as much as possible (it might be hard, the crock it really filled up!). set on low for 8 – 10 hours, or high for 4 – 6.

006-001009-001011-001014-001

visual step by step

051-001

I hope if you make this you really enjoy it!

On a side note, I just made a twitter for this blog so follow me if you so please! Thank yooou.

Leave a Reply

