Why I quit the 21 Day Sugar Detox

I’m great at burying the lead, eh?

031-001

Anyways, as the title suggests, I am out of the 21DSD. I’ve come to the realization over the past few days that I really, really jumped into this WAY too soon. I should be focusing on just getting my paleo eating habits dialled, not additionally restricting myself just yet.

My first day of eating paleo was November 20. A mere 17 days ago. That may seem like a lot, but to me, it’s nothing. Just over 2 weeks. Not even over 2 weeks by the time I started the 21DSD!!! What was I thinking?

By not eating fruit, I was making myself feel way more deprived. And then, when I finally did cave, it wasn’t on fruit, oh no! It was on a gluten free new york style cheesecake. YEAH. I really do think if i just had my mangoes, I’d have been fine. SO I realize I need to take this a lot slower. There is no rush. I would way rather splurge on a pineapple than on something that isn’t paleo at all. Not to mention I’m totally dairy intolerant and spent the night on the couch with a hot grain sack on my belly, gassing up a storm (TMI?)

029-001
I know I look cozy but I was REALLY, REALLY uncomfortable

Also not to mention that I’m doing this all in the midst of the holiday season as well. I really don’t know WHAT I was thinking!!!! Maybe once I’ve been paleo for 6 months I can work on that area, but for now, I was just thinking way too big, and I can see that. I don’t need the added stress and deprivation right now, i really don’t!

So, what I’ve learned from this experience is not to push myself too far, too fast. It will not end well. Also to avoid dairy at all costs. I’ll be back to the 21DSD some day, but for now, it was just too much!

2 thoughts on “Why I quit the 21 Day Sugar Detox

  1. :) I’ve failed at the 21 day sugar detox a few times…. I like fruit a little too much! Glad you are being positive about all of it (not beating yourself up for giving in). The 21 DSD is really hard, and I think your game plan is a good one (wait until you have been paleo for a while!). I don’t know what I would do without my heating pad… that thing is amazing! lol

    • Yeah I’m totally just staying positive and keeping strong eating healthy foods. Being down on yourself is counter productive! Glad I am not alone though :) Yeah my heating pad is practically my best friend <3 haha

Leave a Reply

